welcome to the new punkaganda press +

welcome to the new punkaganda press +

welcome to the new punkaganda press +

welcome to the new punkaganda press +

welcome to the new punkaganda press +

welcome to the new punkaganda press +

May 17, 2023

SPANISH LOVE SONGS - New Album 'No Joy' out August 25 via Pure Noise Records

Photo By Ashley Mays

May 17, 2023 - SPANISH LOVE SONGS, have revealed details on their upcoming new album ‘No Joy’ - the highly anticipated follow up to 2020’s critically acclaimed ‘Brave Faces Everyone’. ‘No Joy’ will be released on August 25, 2023 via Pure Noise Records.

Today, the band also release the first single and music video for “Haunted”, which can be seen on YouTube HERE. The track carries the saltwater-kissed vignetting of an Asbury Park summer, awash in Boss-inspired nostalgia and percussive acoustic guitar that build to some of the band’s biggest hooks yet. The video, directed by Hannah Hall, is a quirky view into a bar-band scene where everyone’s just looking for a good time.

“Haunted is a reintroduction of sorts for us,” explains vocalist and guitarist Dylan Slocum. “It lays out exactly the band we are at the moment, and after 9 months of writing and recording we knew it had to be the first to come out. We were ecstatic to bring it to life with Hannah”

Stream “Haunted” on digital platforms:

Brimming with new wave pastiche, fluttering synths, shimmering walls of chorus guitar, and four-on-the-floor rhythms, ‘No Joy’ isn’t an exclamation point follow-up to the emotional catharsis of the landmark ‘Brave Faces Everyone’ as much as it is an exhale – the sound of vocalist and guitarist Dylan Slocum, his wife and keyboardist Meredith Van Woert, guitarist Kyle McAulay, bassist Trevor Dietrich, and drummer Ruben Duarte finding peace in quieter moments and embracing the negative space.

“This is the closest we’ve ever gotten to figuring out how to translate what I hear in my head with more clarity,” Slocum says.

Produced by the band and Collin Pastore (Lucy Dacus, Julien Baker, Illuminati Hotties) and mixed by Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, M83, Best Coast), the 12 songs on ‘No Joy’ continue to find Spanish Love Songs grappling with the messiness of what it means to be alive in the modern age – unsure of the answers themselves but confident that together, we can all come a little closer to the solutions.

If ‘Brave Faces Everyone’ was about mustering up the strength to barely break even in an increasingly bleak world, ‘No Joy’ is finding the internal peace required to stay in the black. As Slocum says, “it’s an album about finding happiness in what you have and your current moment. It might be your best moment, or it might not, but you have to find joy in it.”

‘No Joy’ Track Listing

1.    Lifers

2.    Pendulum

3.    Haunted

4.    Clean-Up Crew

5.    Middle of Nine

6.    Marvel

7.    I’m Gonna Miss Everything

8.    Rapture Chaser

9.    Mutable

10. Here You Are

11. Exit Bags

12. Re-Emerging Signs of the Apocalypse

The band, at Sold Out shows this week in Cleveland, Detroit, and Philadelphia hosted exclusive listening sessions of ‘No Joy’ in its entirety, prior to their appearance at Slam Dunk Music Festival on May 27 in Hatfield, UK and May 28 in Leeds, UK. They also recently announced an upcoming UK/EU fall run with Hot Mulligan, with more global touring to be announced soon. All current dates listed below with more info found at https://lnk.to/SLS_Music

May 18 – Cleveland, OH – Mahall’s (SOLD OUT)

May 19 – Detroit, MI – Sanctuary (SOLD OUT)

May 21 – Philadelphia, PA – Kung Fu Necktie (SOLD OUT)

May 27 – Hatfield, UK – Slam Dunk Festival

May 28 – Leeds UK – Slam Dunk Festival


Aug 31 – Kingston, UK – Pryzm

Sept 1 – Leeds, UK – Stylus

Sept 2 – Manchester, UK – Academy 2

Sept 3 – Glasgow, UK – SWG3

Sept 5 – Nottingham, UK – Rescue Rooms

Sept 6 – Bristol, UK – SWX

Sept 7 – London, UK – Electric Ballroom

Sept 8 – Birmingham, UK – O2 Academy 2

Sept 10 – Eindhoven, NL – Effenaar

Sept 11 – Cologne, DE – Club Volta

Sept 12 – Hamburg, DE – Logo

Sept 13 – Berlin, DE – So36

Sept 15 – Münster, DE – Skaters Palace

Sept 16 – Munich, DE – Strom

Sept 17 – Weisbaden, DE – Schlachthof

Sept 18 – Antwerp, BE - Trix